Legumes are a cheap source of plant-based protein and other nutrients, including B vitamins, iron, and calcium. But they are difficult to digest, cause intestinal discomfort and contain anti-nutrients. Fermentation removes these disadvantages. TopCultures produces and offers different starters to make fermented legumes.
Tempeh is a traditional soy food originating from Indonesia. It is made with a fermentation process that binds soybeans into a cake, sort of like a veggie burger patty. The fermentation of soybeans really brings out their nutritional value. It has an earthy flavor and firm texture as well. It’s extremely tasty, and it’s used as a meat analogue around the world. If you are a vegetarian or vegan, consider this food. For more information on tempeh, including its history, an assortment of delicious recipes, and tempeh’s health benefits, visit this site. Natto is a traditional Japanese food that is made by fermenting soybeans with Bacillus natto. It contains some very healthy ingredients, such as vitamin K2 and nattokinase.
What do you need?
To make tempeh you need whole soybeans, a tempeh starter and a bit of vinegar. Although tempeh is traditionally made with soybeans, you can also make it from other legumes, such as black beans, lupins and peanuts. Natto is made from soybeans and a natto starter. No other ingredients are required.
Factories buy tempeh starter from us because they value its high quality and consistency. Our starters are dependable, and guarantee them a high success rate in their production process. With our tempeh starter you can make perfect white tempeh with a lot of healthy mycelium. Our natto starter contains Bacillus natto strains that produce high levels of vitamin K2 and produces nice strings. We have a laboratory where we make our own starters using high tech processes such as freeze-drying to ensure high counts of viable spores. We can guarantee the quality every time. More importantly, we can guarantee its safety. Our production process and laboratory are routinely monitored and inspected and approved by the local health department. In addition, our tempeh starters and natto starters are Kosher certified. You can download our latest certificate here.